Re-Visiting The Postman Always Rings Twice

The first time I read James Cain’s infamous first novel was summer 1988, I believe, and like many since 1934, I was mesmerized by the hard-boiled lean prose, the cold-hearted murderers, the masochistic rough sex, and the existentialism of the series of events.

Re-visiting the terse 28,000 word short novel, reading it in one sitting like I did 23 years ago, I see it in new light, I can see how much influence it had on, say, Harry Whittington and Orrie Hitt, and how Cain was most certainly influenced by Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises and A Farewell to Arms, and how most likely Camus was influenced by Cain when writing The Stranger.

Published in hardcover by Knopf in 1934, this classic of crime novels instantly made Cain rich and famous, with a gazillion paperback editions all over the globe and two fine film versions.

Many crime writers in the hardboiled vein can re-read Cain all their lives. I concur,

So, dear reader of this log, go re-read The Postman Always Rings Twice tonight, and tell me what you think and feel.

2 Responses to “Re-Visiting The Postman Always Rings Twice”

  1. I always fall in love with Cain’s women too.

    That makes me a sucker.

  2. FYI – New Audiobook: Yabba Dabba Doo! The Alan Reed Story (Alan was a co-star in the “Postman Always Rings Twice” movie 1949) look for it on Amazon. http://goo.gl/QSz0M

Leave a Reply

